Saturday, May 24, 2014

Today was a very lazy day. It was time for me to really relax for a while and let my body rest. It rained all day, so it was a good day to do nothing but watch movies….

I have been wearing this brace at night to help my lymphedema. Keeping my wrist straight lets the fluid drain out of my hand. When I bend my wrist the fluid moves really slow, so I have found that the brace lets it move faster without restricting the flow.

DSCN0240[1]

When I took it off this morning you can see a difference.

DSCN0241[1]

I can even close my fist and feel my knuckles. You can actually see my knuckles, which has not been possible for a while.

DSCN0242[1]

You should check with your dr, because the things I do may or may not be good for you. The exercise I think is really helping me. I am feeling better and sleeping better. Although I am up really early for rowing, but I am not up every couple of hours during the night like before. I guess I am wearing myself out, so I can sleep.

Lymphedema has no cure, but it is manageable. You just have to find what works for you. I try everything and if it is uncomfortable or it hurts, I stop. Otherwise, I go for it! I am not letting lymphedema or breast cancer run my life. I am running my life and lymphedema and breast cancer just happen to be part of my new normal.

Paddle for the Race is coming up, so please, please help us in raising  money to help find a cure! I will do the hard part entering all the races, all you need to do is come cheer me on or clink on the attached links to make a tax-deductible donation.  Please forward this on to your friends and family. We need your help to find a cure. No donation is too small. Thank you all for your support.

Ta Tas

To sponsor me click here:http://centralwesternok.info-komen.org/site/TR/Other/OKC_CentralandWesternOklahomaAffiliate?px=14634119&pg=personal&fr_id=4516

To sponsor Tom click here: http://centralwesternok.info-komen.org/site/TR/Other/OKC_CentralandWesternOklahomaAffiliate?px=14634672&pg=personal&fr_id=4516

Overall today was a good day. 🙂 The sun was hiding most of the day. The birds were singing through the rain. Some days are good to just stay at home and put your feet up.

 

 

This entry was posted in Breast Cancer, Lymphedema, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment