Day after 1st Chemo and big changes!

I was finally able to fall asleep about midnight, but was awakened by two cold little noses at 6:30am telling me it was time to get up and feed them. I only wish my dogs’ internal clocks could be set for vacation and weekend hours, so on days when you can sleep in, they stay asleep too.

I was really surprsed that I did not have any side effects or pain from my bowling last night. I felt fine getting up. Not tired or weak. No nausea or sickness at all. I took my anti-nausea med, Emend, on an empty stomache. I do not drink caffeine, so not sure if this medication has a type of caffeine in it or if it was because I didn’t eat, but I was like the energizer bunny on a caffeine high. I was up and moving and getting things done. We started triming the trees in my back yard. Got all the limbs picked up and then off to the hospital for my shot.

At 11:00, I had to go in for a shot of Neulasta. This drug is to help promote stonger bone marrow. I have been told it will make my bones and joints ache like growing pains when I was a kid. Got to the hospital at 11:00 and they made my bracelet that I get each time coming in the door. One thing I find weird about the hospital is that it doesn’t have any clocks on the walls, so you are always on time. I have never had to wait past my appointment time. They always scan your bracelet for each drug they give you. Also when they give you the chemo drugs, two nurses have to verify you are the correct person and that they have the correct medications before they inject it into you. I was told I could either get the shot of Neulasta in my arm or my stomache. The nurse from yesterday told me that it is easier to get the shot in the stomache. It wouldn’t hurt so much. So I opted to do the same. I have insulation around the middle to absorb the burning. It still burned a little when she injected it, but it was over as soon as she finished. So it was not too bad.

Also, you know when you have been to the hospital too much when the valet can retrieve your car keys and get your car without you giving them you ticket! They have a reward program for them called Tipping Bucks. You pick them up at the Oncology Infusion Center and give them to the valet. They get to cash them in for free meals, movie tickets, or gift cards. They will also accept cash! But they do provide excellent serivce.

Came home had lunch and received a call that my wig was in and we could come pick it up at 4:30pm. My husband took some “before pictures” of me, since I was going to have my head shaved when I picked up the wig. It was more a vanity thing for me I think. I work in an office environment and I would be devasted if my hair fell out in chunks while in a meeting in the conference room. I had also been told that your hair and head will hurt after chemo. They say your hair usually falls out within 10-14 days after your first chemo treatment and once it starts within 3 days it is all gone. I decided that I would shave my head like GI Jane. I have a wig and several cute hats, that my mom and friends made me. At the hospital in the Cancer Resource Center they also provided me with free hats. At the end of this article I will show you my “before” and “after” pictures.

Overall today was another good day. Started out with beautiful weather, had breakfast on the patio, listened to the birds singing, but most of all no nausea or chemo after affects yet.

This was what I used to look like.

This was what I used to look like.

It is coming off.

It is coming off.

I can now join the Army.

I am ready to “Fight Like A Girl”.

What do you think of me?

What do you think of the new me?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day after 1st Chemo and big changes!

  1. Barb says:

    Jaci, we are praying for you and Tom everyday. Your new hair style is adorable. Great choice. Be well. We love you.

  2. Tracy Calvert says:

    I love it, you look younger! You are such a beautiful sole!. It looks so natural.

  3. Cindy calder says:

    I LOVE IT….I even like the shaved look on you! You remind me of the singer, PINK!!! The new “do” will definitely save time getting ready too. You’re just beautiful!!

  4. Demi says:

    I like the buzz cut! It’s sassy!

  5. Peggy Free says:

    The steroids they give you keep you up and active. Once they wear off is when the “crash” comes, but you may not get that. Love the hair! As it grows back, you can experiment with different looks. It’s very liberating, and makes your morning routine much shorter!

  6. Sami says:

    Sass-a-muffin!! You look great Jaci. And you have a great attitude. Stay strong lady!

Leave a comment